Southwest EMS Regional Committee

Bylaws

Section 1 – Mission

The Southwest EMS Regional Committee represents the counties of Barry, Barton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Douglas, Greene, Hickory, Howell, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Ozark, Polk, St. Clair, Shannon, Stone, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Webster, and Wright. These counties comprise the Regions of D and G.

The Committee is responsible to assure the promotion of high quality, efficient emergency medical services throughout the region. It shall attempt to coordinate with all agencies that are associated with emergency medical services in the region to assure that appropriate input is gathered relating to current issues. The committee will assure that recommendations made to the State Advisory Counsel on EMS reflect the needs of the Region.

In carrying forth this mission, the committee will hold foremost the ideals of patient-centered advocacy, holding this premise above professional, personal or geographical interest in developing recommendations to the State Advisory Council on EMS.

Section 2 – Purpose and Regular Duties

The Southwest Regional EMS Committee will advise and make recommendations to the region and the State Advisory Council on:

- (1) Coordination of emergency resources in the region;
- (2) Improvement of public and professional education;
- (3) Cooperative research endeavors;
- (4) Development of standards, protocols and policies to include disaster planning and appropriate triage and transport protocol: and
- (5) Regional quality improvement and process relating to pre-hospital care.

Members of the committee shall serve without compensation except for reasonable travel and meeting expenses related to the function of the Committee, which are budgeted and approved by the Department of Health.

Section 3 – Membership

The Director of the Department of Health will appoint committee members for a period of four years until reappointed or replaced. Members may serve more than one term.

Members of the committee shall be affiliated with an agency in the Southwest Region that is involved in the provision of emergency medical services. The committee will consist of no more than fifteen (15) members and shall include representation from the areas identified in 19 CSR 30-40.302.

Section 4 – Membership Vacancies

A position on the committee shall be considered vacant if the member resigns, or moves his or her permanent place of residence out of the Southwest EMS region. Should a member conduct himself/herself in an manner grossly inappropriate to the position or absent themselves from two consecutive regular noticed meetings of the full committee without prior notification to an officer of the committee of a justifiable reason which is approved by the committee during the next regular meeting, then the Director of the Department of Health shall be notified and the member shall be removed from the committee with recommendations for replacement.

Section 5 – Officers

The officers of the Committee shall consist of a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and Secretary. The Committee shall elect officers by closed ballot at the first regular meeting of the calendar year for at term of two years.

a. Duties of the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson -

The Chairperson shall preside at the Committee meetings; the Vice-Chairperson shall fill in the Chairperson's absence.

The Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson shall be entitled to vote, make and second motions and may serve on sub-committees.

The Chairperson shall create sub-committees as recommended by the Committee. He/she shall make all appointments and shall appoint the chairperson for the sub-committee.

The Chairperson prepares the agenda for upcoming meetings. Members of the committee can add items to the agenda.

b. Duties of the Secretary -

The Secretary shall cause to be taken minutes, which accurately reflect business conducted during Committee meetings. Approved meetings are public record.

Section 6 – Meetings

The Committee shall meet at least quarterly with meeting dates set at the last meeting for the year for next calendar year. All meetings of the Committee shall be open. At least quarterly, the committee will submit evidence of on-going activity, such as regional protocols-procedures, meeting notices and minutes to the Bureau of EMS and the State Advisory Council.

The presence of a simple majority of appointed Committee Members shall constitute a *quorum for the transaction of all Meetings*. Committee members may attend (1) meeting per year by conference call if an advance request is made to the Chairperson or Secretary.

Meetings where the bylaws are to be discussed with proposed recommendation for change, seventy-five percent of appointed members must be in attendance.

Roberts Rules of Order shall govern all members of the committee:

- 1. Members are not required to obtain the floor before they speak and make motions.
- 2. There is no limit to the number of times a member may speak on a question.
- 3. Motions can be raised while discussion is going on.
- 4. Motions to limit or close debate among the members will not be entertained.
- 5. Informal discussion of a subject is allowed if no motion is pending.
- 6. When everyone understands a motion, a vote can be taken without a formal motion being introduced.
- 7. The chair can speak in any discussion or debate without leaving the chair.
- 8. The chair can make motions and vote on all questions.
- 9. There is no limit as to whom, when or how often a motion to Reconsider can be made. A two-thirds vote is required.
- 10. Before addressing the Committee, all speakers shall state their name, title, and organizational affiliation.
- 11. Questions and comments by non-members should be addressed to the entire Committee, and not an individual member.
- 12. Speakers (non-members of the committee) must wait for the period of public participation and be recognized by the chair or acting chair before making comments or asking questions related to the topic being discussed by the members.
- 13. A topic for discussion must be initiated by a member.
- 14. There will be no voting by proxy.
- 15. The chair at anytime can appoint a special sub-committee. The council chair shall appoint all the members and the chair of the special sub-committee.
- 16. The council chair is automatically a member of any sub-committee.

ADOPTED 1/02 REVISED 2/04 , 10/04 , 06/06, 03/10, 7/16 AMENDED DRAFT 12/01